Eminem: “I Felt Like An Underdog”

The rap icon claims Recovery felt like his last chance to prove himself…

Source: MTV UK

Eminem has admitted that when releasing hit album Recovery last year, he felt like “the underdog.”

The Not Afraid rapper, who was previously crowned the King of Hip-Hop over the likes of Lil Wayne and Jay-Z, claims he wanted the LP to connect with people after seeking help for his drink and drug problems.

Speaking of his past addictions to GQ, Em revealed: “I’m very much a creature of habit. If I’m used to waking up in the morning and having [a Red Bull], I could do it every morning for the next ten years straight until I find something else to move on to. ”

“So if  I’m used to taking a Vicodin when I wake up in the morning because I’m hungover from drinking or taking pills…The bigger the crowd, the bigger my habit got.”

Addressing his time in rehab, the Love The Way You Like hitmaker stated: “Everything was drama in there. And at the time, I didn’t really want to get clean. Everybody else wanted me to. And anyone will tell you: If you’re not ready, nothing is going to change you. Love, nothing.”

Eminem, real name Marshall Mathers, then went on to claim that when it came to penning tracks for Recovery, he felt like it was his last chance to prove himself as an artist.

The 38-year old explained: “On an emotional level, I want my music to connect with the same kid who I was. So it was like, ‘Okay, let me get serious. Because I feel like I’m being wrote off right now, and I’m kind of on my last leg’. I felt like the underdog again.”

Posted on October 19, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

